top of page
Cartaz Concerto Estágio 2017.jpg

The Orchestra

In the Summer of 2017, in the city of Lisbon, we hosted the 1st Orchestra Academy, organized by Orquestra Académica Portuguesa!

It was a week full of music, during which we welcomed young musicians from the various academic orchestras of our country. 

Dates: 24th to 30th July, 2017

Final Concert:

July 30, 2017 | 19 pm

Escola Secundária D. Filipa de Lencastre


  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus | Sinfony No. 40 in G minor, K.550

  • Koman, Mcgregor Feliciano | El Tango de Roxanne

  • Zimmer | Pirates of the Caribbean

Maestro Diogo Ribeiro_edited.jpg

Principal Conductor

Diogo Ribeiro

Born on March 8, 1988, Diogo Geraldo Ribeiro begins his musical studies at the Conservatório Regional do Baixo Alentejo, in Castro Verde, in piano. At the age of 20, he joined the Music Course, Composition Branch, at the University of Évora, under the direction of Professor Christopher Bochmann.


Since then, he has attended several masterclasses and workshops, in Orchestra Direction with Roberto Perez, Luís Clemente, Jean-Sébastien Béreau and Vasco Negreiros, Choral Direction with Paulo Lourenço, Theory and Jazz Music with Carlos Martins and Carlos Barretto, and Composition with Pedro Amaral and António Pinho Vargas.

He actively participated as a pianist accompanying the Choir of the Castro Verde Conservatory and also on some occasions of the Choir of UÉ, at the request of prof. Jaime Branco.

In 2013, he received the 2nd prize in Orchestra Direction, at the National Wind Orchestra Stage, in Portel.

He debuted some solo works in festive ceremonies for the Municipality of Castro Verde and also orchestral works, highlighting the debut of the piece Ónix, played by OCS and directed by Maestro José Eduardo Gomes.

In 2017, he finished his degree in Orchestra Direction with Maestro Jean-Marc Burfin at ANSO.

He was the Principal Conductor of Orquestra Académica Portuguesa beetween 2014 and 2019.


Stay tuned for the next edition!


António Almeida

Maria Batista


Alda Silva

Beatriz Carvalho

Carolina Peixoto

Fernando Calazans

Gustavo Brites

Inês Pascoal

Joana Mendes

Maria Inês Alves

Maria Marques

Petra Naydenov

Rita Correira


Ana Russo

Daniela Torres


Carolina Gaspar

José Araújo

Teresa Araújo


Daniela Bojan


Gustavo Amaral


Ana Botelho

Diogo Mendes

Helena Costa


David Bracke

bottom of page